Tofu breakthrough

I’ve been baking tofu forever, trying to replicate my mom’s perfect technique.  As far as I could tell, you casually sprinkle some soy sauce on the tofu, and simply bake it at some vague temperature for an undetermined amount of time while playing a card game.  The process eludes me because  it happens while I’m distracted by the fact that I’m so happy to be home.  For years my go-to staple has been baked tofu, but not once have I got it close to my mom’s finesse.  I like spicy tofu burnt, dry or fried so I’ve happily consumed all my relative failures, always thinking “shit, if only I’d done it this way it would’ve been perfect”.  Tonight I think I hit the texture jackpot.

Recipe:

1 pack tofu

drizzle olive oil

drizzle soy sauce

cover in cracked pepper, sea salt, cajun seasoning

Pre-heat oven to 420.  Slice firm tofu into 3/4 inches and place on baking sheet.    Drizzle with oil and soy sauce.  Roll the slices around with your hand to cover.  Douse with pepper, salt and cajun seasoning (roll around with your hand for an even coat).  Throw in oven for for 5-10 minutes (until it smells good and you hear a sizzle).  Lower temp to 350 and continue baking for about an hour.  Air-cool for a while and either serve or refrigerate for a day or two.  Should be tenderly chewy on the outside with a spicy kick, and airy throughout.  Tastes like home with a kick.  Next project:  learn to boil the perfect egg…

2 thoughts on “Tofu breakthrough

Leave a Reply

