Tortola, British Virgin Islands; Weekend Warriors Ep. 3

Didn’t write anything down while over there last “weekend”, but might be my favorite “weekend warriors” trip so far.  I got off work at 4AM, and sat around waiting for the sun to come up (and the zombies to go away).  I took the first ferry from Charlotte Amalie to West End, Tortola.  Its really weird/fun to be able to take a 1 hour ferry to “England” going from the USVIs to the BVIs.  I met up with Adam and Lisa at Rhymer’s.  Perfect base camp.  Cheap, comfortable and right on the gorgeous, white sand beach.  It’s in Cane Garden Bay, chill as fuck and has a phenomenal gift shop.  Seriously.  Everything from Cuban cigars to groceries to Tommy Bahama hats.  It was hard for me to leave without dropping $100.

Image

rhymer’s bar/restaurant

ImageImage

***

After nearly 24 hours of awakeness, I crashed out in my room and woke up just in time for sunset.  Adam and Lisa had arrived a day earlier and cased the island.  Our first stop was Palm’s Delight for roti.  Roti is a West Indian food that I’d been looking to try.  Turns out its a curry burrito.  Don’t get me wrong, it was fucking awesome, but for some reason I was expecting something different.  Its wrapped in thin “naan” instead of a tortilla, and filled with curried meat/seafood, potatoes, carrots, peas, etc. Palm’s Delight was my first encounter with the aforementioned Hot Pepper Sauce https://atomattacks.wordpress.com/2012/05/04/caribbean-hot-pepper-sauce-from-tortola/.

ImageImage

***

After dinner we went to Bomba’s.  Bomba (an actually man, think the Snoop Dog of BVI) built this place out of flotsam and jetsam apparently, and it has a reputation for being the place to consume certain “potent”/legal mushrooms during their full moon party.  The walls are littered with graffiti and the other mainstay of Bomba’s; pictures of Bomba with bare-chested women.  I’ll just say, if I had tits I would’ve definitely dumped them out for a picture with Bomba, and have my boobs immortalized in some shack in the middle of nowhere.  I love The Shack in Windansea, but this place was, by far, the real-deal beach shack.  Possibly my favorite bar on earth.

Image

cane garden bay sunset

ImageImage

***

The next day we took the ferry to the neighboring island, Virgin Gorda.  The main (only?) attraction is The Baths, and honestly I was skeptical going in.  Welp, after seeing this place I have an answer if anyone asks me what the coolest beach on earth is.  Huge boulders line the white sand/azul water beach, creating a sick landscape.  I felt like a little kid clambering over the rocks and jumping into the sea (a week later my muscles are still sore, so I guess I’m not a kid anymore…).  There’s a cool, but hard to follow “path” that leads you from The Baths to Devils Cay.  You wade through water, dodge thorns and navigate stone grottoes until you get to an even more secluded pristine beach.  As the sun dipped we hiked back to a bar/food hut at the trailhead; Mad Dog’s.  The painkillers flowed and epic sack-toss games were had.

ImageImageImage

***

That night, Adam and Lisa took me to a BBQ place back on Tortola (name and location coming…too many pain killers).  The pictures suck, but it was possibly the best meal of my life.  I ordered the lobster catch and a behemoth caribbean lobster with black beans/rice showed up in front of me.  Ok.  Lobster, beans, rice, that all sounds cool, but whatever the hell they did to cook that lobster I need to learn.  I’m racking my brain to think of how to describe it, but got nothing.  Tender, spicy, not buttery.  Pre chopped.  Come get one, it’s worth it.

Image

Image

***

On the drive to the ferry the next morning we had to catch Bomba’s Shack by day to fully understand how shack-y it is.  Its literally made of driftwood and random trash (there was a weight bearing 1980’s computer monitor).  We caught the early ferry to STT, took a nap and went to work that night.  Boo work.

Image

2 thoughts on “Tortola, British Virgin Islands; Weekend Warriors Ep. 3

  1. I think this site consists of some genuine superb information for everyone . “Experience isn’t what happens for you it’s what you do with what happens for you.” by Aldous Huxley.

Leave a Reply

