The Enormity of the Situation

Bin Laden was killed tonight.  Wish I was doing this blog when the Towers fell.  No idea what could’ve written but would’ve loved to read what I wrote.  I was scared shitless, and I was told by CNN that a man named Osama Bin Laden was responsible.  I remember Tuesday September 11th, 2001 better  than my college graduation, my first kiss, many major moments in my life.  Woke up, Bitchards called me (around 9:05) and said the sky was falling, turned on CNN, saw it all go down, tried to call everyone I knew in New York (but the system was clogged so no replies for a day or two) and cried with my girlfriend for at least 24 hours.  I remember we felt helpless and really vulnerable.

A man I’ve been bred to loath is killed tonight by the might of my country’s military and intelligence savy.  I’m torn.  9.11 was the most traumatizing experience of my life, but I don’t really believe anymore that killing Osama will change anything.  I respect and admire many revolutionaries, and honestly don’t know that much about Osama, but I’m told this brazen asshole killed a lot of people and ruined a lot of people’s lives.  I feel bad but I’m happy that guy is dead.  I hear about Escobar or Saddam being killed and have vague memories of the Berlin wall falling, but now I’m experiencing the emotional rush of an “enemy of my country” killed.

Being straight up, I looked down on those flag burning, car tipping, spontaneous, packed street celebrations I’ve seen in the middle east when a hated person is killed.  But look at us go.  And I kindof want to hop a cab and be at Ground Zero right now.  The fervor.

Basically I’m trying to justify the fact that I’m a political cynic, but feel happy after this solely symbolic “victory” aka killing.  The words “Ground Zero” mean a lot to me.  But I feel like the kllimg of one man won’t take that eye opening day away.   The major outcome from this “historic moment” is that hopefully we can get the fuck out of Afghanistan, and if Obama is legit be out of Iraq soon.  In your face world, U-S-A, U-S-A, U-S-A.  Maybe this will help us change from a scared, commercial country to some good, old fashioned isolationism.  Take care of this first, then thinking about flexing muscle.

One thought on “The Enormity of the Situation

Leave a Reply

